spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Realizing a Dream

The House that wanted a family, children books, Sue danielI’ve been signing a lot of books lately with the words: Dreams really do come true. Keep Dreaming!

These words really have special meaning to me. I had dreamed of getting a book published for as long as I can remember, and 2012 happens to be the year my dream became a reality. Every day since has been filled with one pinch-me moment after another. I held this dream close to my heart for so many years. I would tweak the words and make a few sketches and nurture it along as often as I could. And then set it aside for another day or week or month. Even though as soon as I wrote the first words, I knew it would be a someday book. I just never would have guessed, that it would take nearly nine years to get it published.

My story, The House that Wanted a Family,  is about a house that waits and waits and waits for a family. And it seems my house and I shared some things in common too. I waited a long time to become a published author and illustrator.

In speaking with so many people, I’m reminded that everyone has dreams of one kind or another. But it is so important to remember that it isn’t enough to just dream. I had to be willing to invest a lot of time and effort and energy to make mine come true. Every single moment has been absolutely worth it. Now I just can’t wait to see my next dream come true.

4 comments on “Realizing a Dream

  1. Tracey M
    November 12, 2012

    Hi to you dear! I am so excited to follow this journey with you. I have been keeping a blog since Jan 2009 which was part of my healing from the postpartum trauma I went through. It has been such a great experience to write and chronicle life and I have such fun going back through reading it. Right now I’m inspired to start doing some faith/art journaling. I’m not much of an artist but that’s what inspires me, that I can create something for God to bless His heart, which in turn will bless mine. To see what I’m talking about you can visit my pinterest page here http://pinterest.com/traceyellen99/faith-art-journaling/ or if you’re not on pinterest, here’s a neat link http://dianemarra.typepad.com/adore_him/faith-art/

    • spencedaniel2012
      November 17, 2012

      Hi Tracey, I’m not on Pinterest yet, but I loved browsing your page. It’s very inspiring, as is your sweet relationship with God. And I couldn’t agree with you more about what a great experience it is to journal. I think you will LOVE art journaling. All the best!

  2. Diane Scheurell
    November 14, 2012

    Congratulations on doing the hard work to realize your dreams. Your book is a winner. My grand-niece loved it. – a fellow author

    • spencedaniel2012
      November 16, 2012

      Thanks, Author Diane. I truly appreciate your words and support. All the best to you and your book!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2012 by in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , .
