spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

The Perfect Time

When I was young, I would have bet that one of my published stories would have been on bookshelves years ago. But back then, how could I have known all the people I needed to meet along the way, or all that I needed to live and experience before that could happen?

  • In my 20’s … I was putting myself through college and working all sorts of odd jobs along the way to pay the rent and put gas in my car and doing my best to survive. I worked as a waitress, factory worker, weekend janitor, babysitter, bookkeeper, bank teller, substitute teacher, and a switchboard operator. I lost my grandfather to a heart attack and my father to cancer. I moved a ridiculous number of times, wrote a couple of stories that a couple of professors encouraged me to get published, earned my degree in elementary education, fell in love and got married.
  • In my 30’s … I became a mom and continued to work full time outside the home, moved a couple more times, sadly went through a divorce, bought a home, and learned to juggle work and school and church and PTA as a single working mom, while soaking up every single moment possible with my daughter as we visited the bookmobile, and played dolls and dress up, and enjoyed birthday parties and sleepovers.
  • In my 40’s … I continued to soak up as many mom moments as possible, while still juggling work and a home. My daughter and I made our first of several trips to Ireland (my mom’s birthplace). I wrote the first version of my story, “The House that Wanted a Family.” I became an empty-nester as my daughter headed to college.
  • In my 50’s … I was fortunate enough to be able to take trips to London, Paris, New York City (twice) and Ireland a couple more times…all (except one trip) with my daughter. When my daughter graduated from college and got all settled into her life hours from home, she helped me turn her bedroom into my studio and guestroom. In the midst of finalizing the words and illustrating my book, she got engaged and then married to a wonderful man, and I gained a son.

And of course this is only a snippet of my life in those years and even though I didn’t get published until decades later than originally planned, I really believe it wasn’t meant to happen when I was 20, or 30, or 40. I really wasn’t ready. It was meant to happen in my 50’s … because this is the perfect time

My Author Photo

My Author Photo

The House that wanted a family, children books, Sue daniel

My Book

4 comments on “The Perfect Time

  1. travellingbag
    November 14, 2012

    I agree – there is a perfect time for everything. My 50s have turned out like that too.

    • spencedaniel2012
      November 16, 2012

      It’s always reassuring to know that others share this journey with us. I’m glad your 50’s have turned out well. All the best!

  2. Joan
    November 15, 2012

    Sue, this brought tears to my eyes. Not only a “perfect time” but a beautiful life lived.

    • spencedaniel2012
      November 16, 2012

      Joan, reading your comment brought tears to my eyes too. Thank you for sharing your words.

Leave a Reply

