spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

The Clock is Ticking

The ClockYou may be knee deep in holiday preparations and your to-do list is growing, instead of getting smaller. Maybe while waiting in line for a potential gift or nice cut of meat or perfect bottle of wine, somewhere in the back of your mind comes that gnawing realization that there were some things you intended to accomplish this year. And the clock is ticking. Maybe you wrote out your goals or New Year’s resolutions, and then stuck them to a mirror or the refrigerator, or maybe tucked them inside a journal or dresser drawer. Maybe in spite of your good intentions, they got buried or lost or just forgotten. Sometimes the resolutions or bucket list items are not so much to-dos, as they are dreams. This was the year you were going to…fill in the blank here. The funny thing about life is there is no pause button. Time just keeps moving along and before we know it, 365 days have gone by, often in a blur.

I am no expert in how to make dreams come true.  I was only a couple of months into 2012, when I realized my lifelong dream to be a published author and illustrator. I’ve learned there is no magic age for realizing a dream. Anyone can have a dream, but not everyone will realize them. One important step is taking action. If the only action we take is to talk about our dreams, there’s a pretty good chance we won’t realize them. I love Albert Einstein’s definition of insanity: Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Believe me, I know this first hand. I spent a lot of years and a lot of time talking and writing about wanting to become a published author and illustrator. In fact, the story (The House That Wanted a Family) took almost nine years from when I wrote the first words to when I held the actual book in my hands.

  • For me, I needed to believe that my dream was worth realizing and that I had the ability to make it come true.
  • Then, I needed to be willing to invest time and effort to see it realized.
  • Of course, I needed to take action…lots of action.
  • I also surrounded myself with positive affirmations and verses that inspired me.
  • And I also happened to be blessed with an amazing support network of family and friends and co-workers. They have made and continue to make a huge difference in my life.

Even if you only have 15 minutes a day to work towards realizing your dream, that means you’ll be 15 minutes closer to realizing it. If you spend time formulating and writing out a plan, that’s action. If you research and do your homework to help move yourself in the direction of your dream, that’s action. If you network and learn new skills to help take another step in reaching your goal, that’s taking action. Just like in life, everyone’s journey will be different.

Your dream doesn’t have to be some huge Hollywood production of a dream either. When I was young, I had a number of dreams. I wanted to go to college. I wanted to become a mom. I wanted to travel the world. I wanted to become a published author and illustrator. And although I’ve been fortunate to realize all of them, I’m not done dreaming. There is a lot more of the world I want to see, and I have many more stories to tell.  

So whatever you are dreaming, ask yourself what action you need to take today, tomorrow, and each day after that, to make it come true. Write it down. Be specific. Post it on your refrigerator and keep it there. Announce it to your world (however big or small your world might be). Commit to taking action. And get ready to watch make it come true. Don’t worry that it may have taken you longer than originally planned. Whenever it happens, it will be the perfect time for YOU! Whatever it is, just do it. And for Heaven’s sake and your own – keep dreaming!

Leave a Reply

