spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Being a Morning Person

According to my experience, people generally fall into two categories – morning people or night people. And for as long as I can remember, I have been a morning person. I think being born at 6:14 a.m. was the first indication that morning was going to be my time. Whatever the reason, I just know that to this day, I love waking up early (generally around 5:30 – 6:00), and knowing I have the gift of a brand new day. I haven’t used an alarm to wake up for more than 20 years and I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to wake up in a peaceful and gentle way every day. I also think it’s one of the reasons I remember my dreams so vividly, since I’m not getting jolted out of my sleep by some loud or annoying buzzing, blaring, or musical wake up noise.

To me the whole world seems quieter in the morning and when I peek out my front window, I find comfort in seeing the deserted street and the dark houses of my neighbors. I love that I’m up and enjoying the day, while a portion of the world, at least my little corner of the world is still sleeping. I savor the quiet of my home while I can, before the furnace kicks in, and my wakefulness and getting ready for work takes over. I generally wake up ready to start the day from the very moment my feet hit the floor. Most days I feel like I could tackle just about any project or task – big or small. 

Before starting the pot of coffee, I head into my studio and step on the floor switch to wake up the white Christmas lights that hang above the corner windows. It doesn’t matter whether I spend it in devotion time, writing in one of my journals, or sketching out an idea that comes to mind, I am in absolute heaven just being in my studio. Almost without fail, I sip my morning cup of coffee and feelings of gratitude wash over me. Even on weekends, I still love to wake early. I especially love a Saturday morning home when I can lounge in pajamas and leisurely enjoy my morning ritual of coffee and steel-cut Irish oatmeal. I like to imagine that in retirement every day is going to feel like Saturday.

My Morning Ritual - Coffee and Steel-cut Irish Oatmeal

My Morning Ritual – Coffee and Steel-cut Irish Oatmeal

I also have a fair share of night owls in my life though. In fact, for most of her growing up years, even when she was in the womb, my daughter was a night owl. When I was pregnant with her, I can remember crawling into bed at around 10:30 or 11:00 at night and almost without fail, that is when she would start kicking. And to prove my case about birth times, my little one was born, not surprisingly, in the middle of the afternoon.

Being a morning person, I’ve always been rather talkative in the morning. Being a night person, my daughter was definitely more talkative at night. I can still remember many after school phone calls when she called me at work to check in and she’d ask me to repeat whatever it was I had told her in the morning. All she could remember was my talking, but she had no idea what I had said. That used to just crack me up. Then as she became a teenager, her favorite time to talk would be either when I was getting ready for bed or when I was already in bed. She’d be chatting away and I would be doing my best to stay awake, oftentimes nodding off in the middle of her story. Until I’d hear her ask, “Mom, did you fall asleep?” And of course, I had. We used to even joke that I had ‘Mom” hours that were from 6:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m.

So if you are a morning person reading this post today and it’s before noon, “Good Morning Sunshine!

And if you are a night owl reading this post and it’s before noon, a gentle good morning to you. Maybe you should consider checking back later, especially if you find yourself remembering that I wrote something, only you’re just not sure what I said.

6 comments on “Being a Morning Person

  1. Robyn
    January 30, 2013

    Def a morning person here! And my daughter is like yours!! I totally understand the ocassional ‘communication disconnect”. Good Morning Sunshine 🙂

    • spencedaniel2012
      January 30, 2013

      I loved your sweet good morning sunshine comment, Robyn. Enjoy your week!

  2. dianescheurell
    January 30, 2013

    Yup – morning person. It’s 6:25 am, I’m sipping my coffee, and I AM retired – still waking up at 6 am. Of course it’s already 10:30 am your time. Are you starting to slow down? Aloha, Diane

    • spencedaniel2012
      January 30, 2013

      It looks like morning people are in the lead. No slowing down, but still enjoying every minute.

  3. Laurie Spence
    February 1, 2013

    I am soooooooooo a night owl. I would LOOOOOOOOVE to be a morning person, I have TRIED SO HARD to be one but it is has always been a struggle. It started as a child, always trying to stay up late ’til I’d get caught and sent to bed and then in college, working through the night on projects was my best time always! Having kids cured me of it some, I have learned to be more of a morning person and like you I love that quiet solitude of early morning…it feels so sacred and blessed to me… but Lola our dog and little Henry seem tuned in to my consciousness and as soon as I sneak to get up, there they are. And it’s funny but now as a mom when I stay up late I feel strangely guilty because I know it will require me sleeping a little later than my household will allow…I would say I am a “recovering night owl” trying to fit in a forced early morning world…LOL!

    • spencedaniel2012
      February 2, 2013

      I love that Lola and Henry can sense when you are awake. The sweetness in that image is so touching. I also love that you consider yourself a ‘recovering night owl.’ I think there is absolutely nothing wrong with being either one – it is just one of the many things that makes us each who we are – unique and yet in many ways, similar.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
