spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Unexpected Mail

Today some unexpected mail arrived in my mailbox. I happily discovered it wedged between a weekly sales flyer and a statement from my bank. It was such a sweet surprise finding this beautifully hand written envelope, amidst my other official and random junk mail.

To me, unexpected is the very best kind of mail. There is no waiting for the mailman or checking each day for something to arrive. It just arrives unexpectedly, and when it’s for YOU, well things don’t get much better than that.

My mail was a thank you card from my sister-in-law who also provided layout assistance for my book, The House that Wanted a Family. There was so much love tucked into this card, I am seriously surprised it could fit into the envelope, which by the way, had my name written in her lovely distinctive calligraphy. Her sweet words are still resonating with me as I write this post, and I know it will be a card (and envelope) that I save.

In this day and age of emails and text messages, to receive handwritten and postage-stamped mail is not only extra special, it can be very rare. I have been an avid letter and card writer for years, which means I also get my fair share of letters and cards. The two kind of go hand in hand. Now, I don’t save all of the cards or letters that I receive, but I do save a lot of them. Periodically, I need to sort through my somewhat overflowing baskets and containers of saved cards and letters. I have some very special ones tied up in ribbon that I keep tucked in a dresser drawer. And I also have every card and letter my daughter has ever given or sent to me…including the special delivery ones she pushed beneath my bedroom door or threw down the laundry chute. Sometimes I even display a few special ones that make me smile or feel all wrapped up in love every time I see them. Right now I have some cards on my piano that warm my heart.

My Saved Dresser Drawer Letters

My Saved Dresser Drawer Letters

Today the U.S. Postal Service announced that due to budget cuts, they will be eliminating Saturday mail (not package) delivery. Last month they raised the cost for first class domestic postage to $.46 per ounce, and first class international to $1.10 per ounce. I know some people will complain about these changes or the price increases, but I happen to think they are necessary changes and that the stamp price is still a great deal. Sure I would love to pay less, but seriously what can a person buy for $.46 anymore? Most people pay more for a candy bar or a can of soda, and once those are consumed, they are gone. Just think about it.  

For the cost of a stamp –

  • You can tell someone you love them
  • You can tell someone you miss them  
  • You can wish someone, Happy Birthday!
  • You can celebrate from afar
  • You can send someone a hug
  • You can share a giggle or a smile by sending a funny card or joke
  • You can offer encouragement
  • You can say thank you
  • You can send photos
  • You can send an invitation
  • You can RSVP (That is why there is a stamp on the envelope.)
  • You can send a surprise
  • You can share news
  • You can pay a bill or send some money
  • You can remind someone that you care
  • You can put sunshine in someone’s day (or night)
  • You can become a pen pal

The options are truly endless. Why not write some hug mail right now and mail it tomorrow?

I encourage you to go find some paper and a pen and a stamp. It doesn’t have to be the perfect paper or the perfect pen, because then you may not do it. If the only paper you find is a brown paper bag or a recipe card – use it. Don’t worry about finding the perfect words either. Whatever you write, your hand written words or sentiments are going to make someone’s day. Just write something. Isn’t it always better when you get something that has a message or some words of love vs. just a signature?  Even if all you write is, “When I thought of all the people I could send a card to, I decided to send one to you. I’m thinking of you. I love you. I miss you.” You get the idea.

If you don’t know who to send it to, browse your address book and choose someone. Whoever you feel nudged to send a card or a note to – do it. You never know, that person might be in need of a hug or a kind word or some encouragement.

Although I hope you get a call or a text or some kind of acknowledgement after sending out your unexpected mail, I encourage you to let go of any expectations. This is coming from a person who REALLY likes feedback and loves words of affirmation. The reality is that sometimes people have good intentions and sometimes they just forget to say thank you. Don’t let it rob you of your random act of kindness or the good feelings you will get by sending hug mail. Who knows, you may decide to make this a habit. I just know that it will be the best $.46 you spent today.

7 comments on “Unexpected Mail

  1. Writing Jobs
    February 6, 2013

    That was an excellent post today. Thanks so much for sharing it. I really enjoyed reading it very much. I’ll be sure to pass it along to others.

    • spencedaniel2012
      February 8, 2013

      Thanks for following and for commenting. I appreciate it. I also appreciate your spreading the word.

      • Writing Jobs
        February 12, 2013

        You’re welcome. Have a great week.

  2. Laurie Spence
    February 7, 2013

    What a wonderful entry on good old fashioned snail mail!! LOVED IT!!!! I too love getting hand-written cards (especially Sue, receiving your gorgeous ‘art cards’ sure to brighten any day!). I am vowing to do it at least once a week this year, from this point on. Thanks for the inspiration!! (and acknowledgment 🙂

    • spencedaniel2012
      February 8, 2013

      Thank you, Laurie. I appreciate your good words and encourage you to stay with your commitment. It’s a great idea! I hope in return, you get some unexpected mail in your mailbox too.

  3. traceyellen99
    February 7, 2013

    What a sweet post, Sue! What a treat that the special letter ended up being one sent by my sister Laurie 😉 So cool. Little J is just starting to get into letter/card writing & sending. It’s so fun. We even got the neighbors in on it; we walked over a card he made when the neighbor was sick, and then he got a couple unexpected follow up cards in the mail just for him (from the neighbor).

    • spencedaniel2012
      February 8, 2013

      How sweet that you are teaching your little one to correspond. I love it! Thanks for following and commenting, Tracey. All the best to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

