spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Precious Fan Mail

Yesterday I received some hand-delivered, book-related fan mail. And, I have to tell you that anytime I receive something related to my book, The House that Wanted a Family, even if it is just the words that a child enjoyed or loved my story; my heart melts a little bit.

Back in December I blogged about being a ‘Words of Affirmation’ person, and I shared some of the acknowledging and sweet words that I had received since publishing my story. Since then, I have been intending to put together a blog post with some of the letters and drawings I have also received over the past year. But good intentions and actions don’t always coincide. I’m thinking you may be able to relate. Only today, I am taking action. Today, I’d like to share a few of these heart melters with you.

This first one is what I was given yesterday. It is from a very precocious 5 year old girl named, Emily. I happen to work with her grandmother and Emily’s home school assignment was to write about being 100 years old. Her sweet handwritten words got me all choked up.

When I am 100 Years Old by Emily

When I am 100 Years Old by Emily

Next are three gems I received from first graders who wrote a thank you and drew a picture of my house and another one of my town on the hill. As Charles Caleb Colton said, ‘Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.” I am most definitely flattered. To see a little someone use my book or illustrations for their inspiration…well, I hardly can put it into words. I received these from one of the first grade classes at Jefferson Lighthouse Elementary School in Racine, Wisconsin, after I donated a signed copy of my book to their library.

Thank You I Love the Book

Thank You I Love the Book

A 6 Year Old View of my House

A 6 Year Old View of my House

First Grade Drawing of THTWAF Hill

First Grade Drawing of THTWAF Hill

Finally, this beautifully illustrated note of congratulations came from my very talented and creative sister, Ann. I truly wish every one of you had a sister like Ann. I also wish that everyone in the world could get some type of precious fan mail. Now, wouldn’t that be something? Just know that as long as it continues to come my way, I promise to share it with you at some future date. Until then, stay well and stay tuned.

Congrats Art by Ann Spence

Congrats Art by Ann Spence

2 comments on “Precious Fan Mail

  1. Bob
    April 10, 2013

    Thanks for sharing. I loved it.

    • spencedaniel2012
      April 20, 2013

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for taking the time to let me know.

Leave a Reply

