spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Making Hay while the Sun is Shining

This past Saturday, while weeding my brick patio for the 4th time this summer, I was simply amazed at the resilience and tenacity of weeds. Although I’m no green thumb gardener, I can recognize and name several varieties of plants and flowers, including a few of the weeds that had found a home between the cracks and crevices of my bricks. There were mostly dandelions, several itsy bitsy maple saplings, and some whispery thin greenery that kind of resembled shamrocks. Besides one pokey thistle, there was also a whole assortment of unidentified weeds that managed to partially fill a large paper bag for compost pickup.  Brick Patio with Weeds

Some of the weeds had barely taken root and with hardly a pull they easily came out in my hand. Others needed to be tugged and prodded and sometimes required me to use the garden shears to fully uproot them. I know better than to think I got every single piece of every single root. In my 20 years of homeownership, I’ve become somewhat seasoned in this game of tug of war. Plus with all the rain we had this spring, including the last few weeks, I really wasn’t surprised at how well the weeds were doing. But I was surprised to find some moss that has started to get a little too comfortable out there among the weeds and the brick.

It took me several hours to fully rid my patio of all the visible weeds, and I felt such a feeling of satisfaction in seeing the end result, the fruits of my labor.

It seems whenever I spend chunks of time outside that my thoughts often are lifted heavenward. Sitting under the shade of my patio umbrella, in between sips of cool water, I couldn’t help reflecting over all the different kinds and types of weeds and plants I had in my yard and garden. The colors alone were almost mind boggling, even when only considering all the various shades of green. And what’s truly mind boggling is how many plants and weeds cover the surface of the earth in all the countries and continents of the world!

I definitely was feeling immersed in more than one God-moment and just feeling grateful for the sunshine and warm weather that made my weed-pulling task something I was able to tackle and complete this weekend. I was grateful for my eyesight and all the beauty that surrounded me. I was grateful for my ability to hear when some random birds serenaded me and the breeze gently nudged some sweet sounds from my wind chimes. I was grateful for my physical health that allowed me to bend and twist, up and down, spending hours working in my yard. And I was also grateful when I finally finished, sore and tired, that I had some Advil waiting inside.

 Halfway through my weeding, when I realized I was going to write about it, I took a before and after photo to document my progress. It seemed appropriate to share these photos along with some of the different weed-inspired thoughts and questions that came to me in the process.  

  • Am I where I belong?
  • Am I fully rooted in everything I want to be?
  • Is there any place where I am stuck?
  • Am I blooming where I am planted or just taking up space?
  • Where do I need to be tenacious in my life?
  • Am I living with purpose?
  • Where could I be spreading or planting some seeds?
  • How do I want to be remembered when I’m gone?
  • Do I have any other ‘weeds’ in my life that need pulling?
  • What am I waiting for?

I happen to appreciate the saying, ‘Make hay while the sun is shining.”

Being somewhat of a procrastinator at times, I especially love when I apply it to my own life. Yesterday was one of those days. I am thoroughly enjoying how my patio brick looks after all my hard work and effort. I’d love to say I’m done. Only I know better. Am I ever really done? For now, the moss is waiting. That’s my project for next Saturday. I’m hoping for more sunshine. How about you?  

Ta Dah!

Ta Dah!

7 comments on “Making Hay while the Sun is Shining

  1. dianescheurell
    July 8, 2013

    Sue, Please consider leavng the moss. It will crowd out the weeds and be a little cushion under your feet. I like the phrase “make lemonade out of lemons.” The application here is to believe that moss is not a weed.
    Ahhh. Now you can relax this weekend. See you Sunday – we’ll make hay together. Aloha, Diane

  2. Therese
    July 9, 2013

    I too would either leave the moss to grow or use one of those weed killers. Moss can look really pretty. I am guessing you have a good reason for pulling though;)

    • spencedaniel2012
      July 9, 2013

      I actually don’t mind the look of the moss, but after some online research, I mostly found that moss can be damaging to the brick. I will check with our garden center and see what they know about it. But, if anyone else has information or advice on keeping vs. removing moss, please share. Thanks!

      • Dolly
        July 9, 2013

        I have moss and have tried yearly to get rid of it as I wanted the neat clean look of the flagstone. However, this year I have let nature be and find the moss is taking over once again. It is very soft to walk on, so I will see what the end of summer does for the flagstone edged in moss.

      • spencedaniel2012
        July 11, 2013

        Okay, Dolly. Based on your response and with the encouragement of Diane and Therese AND unless I come across some major warning to get rid of it, I will let nature and the moss take its course.

  3. Ann Spence
    July 17, 2013

    Sue, wonderful photos!!! They enabled the reader to not only share your visual point of view, as you’re working, but also to listen in on that almost prayerful internal thought process. Magical! And provocative. Thank you for sharing.

    • spencedaniel2012
      July 17, 2013

      Ann, thanks for your wonderful words and perspective. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
