spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Come Fly Away With Me

Seems like I’ve been getting a lot of email offers to fly somewhere and with all the crazy weather conditions and temperatures of late, and winter showing no signs of slowing down, I’ve been finding myself daydreaming about getting away and browsing old vacation photographs (online, in albums and yes, in drawers) longing for some warm memories, or maybe just a mental escape.

I love the idea that while someone may be packing their bags to leave the place where they live for an overnight, a long weekend, or an extended vacation, someone else very well may be packing their own bags and heading to that exact location the first someone is leaving. Regardless of the zip code or postal code, wherever you live just may be a vacation destination for someone else. Although there is little chance many (or any) of you are considering an excursion to my zip code anytime soon, where temperatures this winter have been almost daily colder than the North Pole – that is unless you’re into ice fishing or snow sculpting or some other winter sport. Only don’t you think it’s a little too cold even for those outside activities?

And while each of us may truly enjoy and sometimes ooh and ahh over our daily view, a visitor or vacationer might be snapping away photo after photo and truly oohing and ahhing and wondering what it would be like to call this place home. I started writing this post earlier in the week when the wind chill forecast was for nearly 50 below zero. That forecast became a reality hours later. Seriously, for me that sealed the deal and I decided to share some of my vacation photos with you. You know, vacation places and moments where I oohed and ahhed all over the place.

Oh don’t worry. I’m not going to take you through ALL my vacation photos, only a sampling. Plus some photos from places like Charlotte, Orlando, San Diego, or San Francisco, although lovely AND MUCH WARMER than where I am right now (at least I think so), I either don’t have photos to share or I’d have to do some major digging to find them.

Now mind you, not all of these photos are from warm weather places, but they do transport me back to another place and time, AND they also bring me lots of warm memories. So if you’d like to take a little mental escape, even if you already live in paradise, feel free to come fly away with me.
Photo Album Cover

Fence Lake Photo 1

Fence Lake Photo 2Minocqua Photo 3County Down Photo 4

Laytown Ireland Photo 5Irish Sea Photo 6Paris France Photo 7Chicago Photo 8Washington DC Photo 9Washington DC Photo 10Door County Photo 11

Wind Point Photo 12

And finally…My Backyard Photo 13

The End Photo 14

Click HERE for more information on Voyager, by Linda Brunker.

7 comments on “Come Fly Away With Me

  1. dianescheurell
    January 29, 2014

    The sad news is that I DO have to come to your zip code in late February. I’m praying for a heat wave. Hope to see you then for lunch or hot cocoa.

  2. Hilary
    January 31, 2014

    I LOVE this post and am transported back to so many of our travels. Beautiful photos, words, and an incredible memory of details to boot. Adventure on, dear mama.

    • spencedaniel2012
      January 31, 2014

      I’m so glad you loved this post and being transported down memory lane. I had a lot of fun and warm memories pulling the photos together. My plan is most definitely to always adventure on…I love that phrase. I wish you the same, my dear little one.

  3. Crystal
    February 1, 2014

    You make me feel like jumping a plane anywhere to get a change of scenery. The cold and wind have gotten the better part of me this winter. Stay warm and I hope that the little ground hog does what he needs to tomorrow!

    • spencedaniel2012
      February 2, 2014

      I think a lot of people are feeling just like us – needing a change of scenery and maybe not wanting to leave the house (too cold) to get it. I just checked and not surprisingly the groundhog predicted six more weeks of winter. Now I’ll wait to see what the meteorologists say… fingers are crossed. Hope you stay cozy and warm too.

  4. Pingback: A Magical Evening | spencedaniel

Leave a Reply

