spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

A Magical Evening

A couple of Thursdays ago, I spent a magical evening with Grace, a dear college friend at The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The evening was a gift from Grace and it is one I will never forget. It was a bringing together of two talented facilitators – one an artist and one a writer, for art, fabulous food, storytelling, travel, and wine. You can read more about it at the Pfister Hotel Blog, by clicking on this link: Gathering of the Senses.

The art part included taking a favorite travel photo we each had emailed to the Pfister’s resident artist and learning a technique to trace the image on the canvas and then paint it – all this in little over one hour. I was in awe by everyone’s amazing photo to painted canvas conversions. My photo was one you may recognize from my previous blog post entitled: Come Fly Away with Me. It was taken on a trip I took to Ireland in the fall of 2007. Although there are still some finishing touches that need to be done, I thought you might like to see my painting.

My Painting: Windswept Grass along the Irish Sea

My Painting: Windswept Grass along the Irish Sea

The food and the wine were simply sensational.

Gathering of the Senses Menu

Gathering of the Senses Menu

I’m still savoring the smoky fish chowder. I happen to be a fan of Top Chef (on Bravo TV) and the menu reminded me of the creations the chefs bring to life each week. The Pfister chef and his talented staff are true masters.

Smoke Onion Chowder - DELICIOUS!

Smoke Onion Chowder – DELICIOUS!

I’m dying to go back to try their famous Sunday brunch or even to just sip a glass of wine in the lobby living room.

Just this week I received a postcard in the mail from the Pfister’s resident writer, Molly. I nearly cried when I read her beautiful words. After hearing all of our stories about why we each chose the travel photo that we had, Molly promised to write a haiku for everyone’s paintings. I had shared the story of my photo with her and how on that day while standing along the Irish Sea, I had felt my mom’s presence in a place where she had once visited too. Here’s the haiku Molly wrote about my painting:

The sway of the grass
Releases mother’s whispers
She is not alone.

I plan to tack these lovely words to the back of my painting once it is finished, and then hang it somewhere in my home. Until then, here’s to more magical evenings like this one (for all of us) and for the sweet memories that linger long after the moments have passed.

3 comments on “A Magical Evening

  1. dianescheurell
    February 2, 2014

    Sue, you are so talented. Love your painting. I’m sure it means even more to you now with the haiku Molly wrote. The last line could have read, “You are not alone.”

  2. Jan O'Brien
    February 2, 2014

    Your painting is beautiful…so carefree and you can almost smell the sea. The haiku is so appropriate 🙂

    • spencedaniel2012
      February 4, 2014

      Thanks Diane and Jan, I’m touched by your comments and your kudos.

Leave a Reply

