spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

On the Edge with Not Enough Storage

A train whistle blows and seconds later, while the sound is still resonating, an airplane flies overhead. It is 3:00 am and I can’t sleep. My foggy brain swirls around with a thousand thoughts like a talented barista leaving foamy impressions in a cup and I wonder where the train is headed and if the airplane is just departing or making its return. This waking in the middle of the night and extra early in the morning has become somewhat of a pattern of late. I just have too much on my mind.

Hours later, I’m sipping my second cup of coffee and journaling. Quiet reflective time before I start my day. The street outside is mostly quiet, with a few stray cars going by. Again I wonder where they are going. At the same time I ask myself the same question. Where am I going? Of course it is really more of a philosophical question. My journals of late have been overflowing and yet taking the time to share my words has been a struggle. I seem to have an overflowing stash of half-finished blog posts waiting too.

I’ve been using the words overwhelmed and buried a lot lately and I don’t like using them. As somewhat of a Pollyanna, I know things are not where they need to be when I am feeling this way. So I’ve been working on changing the words, because I know what you speak, you perpetuate.

Even my iPhone is out of memory and every time I plug it in to charge it, I get the same message: Not Enough Storage. I’ve tried deleting things (like my 1000’s of photos) and have made a number of troubleshooting efforts and have even gone to my cell phone provider to see if they could help. They tried. They couldn’t. I need a new phone.Not Enough Storage

Today with lack of sleep, I felt like I had the same problem as my phone – not enough storage either. I needed to call UNCLE. I did.

Taking several deep breaths, I picked up my to-do list from the table next to me and noticed that I had written it out with hardly a space between the tasks. This is so not typical for me. It looked something like this:

To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do To Do

No wonder I was overwhelmed. It made me realize even my to-do list was giving me stress. Okay, well maybe that is nothing new. But instead of seeing my tasks as separate items to check off one at a time, all I was seeing was a great big blob of To Do, making it seem almost impossible to get things done. It made me want to give up before I even got started.

So I took another pad of paper and wrote out each of the to-do tasks one at a time. Now my to-do list looks more like this:

To Do

To Do

To Do

To Do

To Do

To Do

To Do

To Do

To Do

To Do

To Do

To Do

To Do

To Do

Well, you get the idea. I was even able to cross through a few of them I had already completed. Yes! Somehow things didn’t seem quite as overwhelming as before. By making this one simple change, I felt better.

Then I started paging through one of my journals and I found these beautiful inspiring words:

The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. – Lao-tzu (Chinese Philosopher 604BC – 531BC)

If you think about it, for Lao-tzu to have written this, even people living that long ago must have needed a reminder to break large tasks or goals into smaller pieces. Pasted in another journal was The Serenity Prayer:Serenity Prayer by Reinhold Niebuhr

It’s funny. I know both of these by heart and I have read them dozens of times, but somehow at this particular moment in time, they were just the words I needed. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m still feeling like I have more to do than is humanly possible (at least sometimes), but somehow I just talked myself down from the edge of overwhelm. Now I have to figure out what to do about my cell phone. It’s on my to-do list. So is finishing Chapter Three for my blog. Stay tuned.

4 comments on “On the Edge with Not Enough Storage

  1. dianescheurell
    March 27, 2014

    Dearest Sue, I feel for you. I recently stopped doing a number of things that I enjoy just to help control the sense of overwhelm. It’s reduced the number of items on my To Do list. But what’s crummy is that I also don’t do many of the things on my Wanna Do list. For example, it’s been a long time since I read a book. Maybe we can talk each other down off the edge and get a good girl-friend chat in at the same time. Except I’ve found multitasking isn’t a good solution either. Sigh. I’ll put you in my prayers.

  2. therese gordon
    March 29, 2014

    Hi Sue! Do you guys have Verizon there? They have a free iphone 5c with 2 year contract until 3/31. I totally know about that never ending list. I hear that we need to be happy accomplishing even one item a day. It has helped me. Hugs!!

  3. Barb Cartalucca
    May 7, 2014

    Susie – One of the bosses I had in my career told me to ALWAYS put chocolate on your to do list and then you would have something to cross off every day. Try it!!

    Love Barb

    • spencedaniel2012
      May 23, 2014

      Diane – Thanks for your words and ideas. I appreciate your thoughts and your prayers.
      Therese – Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and share your words as well. I especially appreciate the hugs. Always.
      Barb – What a GREAT suggestion! I will most definitely do it. Thanks for sharing and thanks for your love. xo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2014 by in Writing and tagged , , , , , .
