spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

What’s Your Favorite Children’s Book?

Today’s is International Children’s Book Day. It made me stop and think about all the children’s books I have read and loved through the years. Of course the exact number would be far too difficult to count. And while some books may have been read once and quickly forgotten, many more became cherished favorites and were ones I have read and re-read and sometimes gifted to countless children along the way.

Instead of listing every single favorite book that may have touched me, made me giggle or tear up, taught me a sweet lesson, or warmed my heart – often again and again with each re-reading, I thought I would share a sampling of books or cover screen grabs (from Amazon). This represents just a few of the books that I think everyone should read at least once…maybe to get lost in the words or maybe just to be dazzled by the illustrations. 

Some Favorite Children's Books of Mine

Some Favorite Children’s Books of Mine

Here is the list:

Someday – written by Alison McGhee and illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds

Ruby the Copycat – written and illustrated by Peggy Rathmann

The Surprise Doll – written by Morrell Gipson and illustrated by Steffie Lerch

Two Badd Babies – written by Jeffie Ross Gordon and illustrated by Chris L. Demarest

Casey at the Bat – written by Ernest Lawrence Thayer and illustrated by Patricia Polacco

Dr. Seuss’s Sleep Book – written and illustrated by Dr. Seuss

The Complete Tales of Winnie-the-Pooh – written and illustrated by A. A. Milne

Stone Soup – written and illustrated by Marcia Brown

Caps for Sale – written and illustrated by Esphyr Slobodkina

Eloise – written by Kay Thompson and illustrated by Hilary Knight

The Velveteen Rabbit – written and illustrated by Margery Williams

The Little Prince – written and illustrated by Antoine de Saint Exupéry

The Hundred Dresses – written by Eleanor Estes and illustrated by Louis Slobodkin

Special Note: While most of these covers are of the original book that I remember and love, some of those listed have been republished with new illustrations and/or by different illustrators.

So how about you dear reader, do you have a favorite children’s book you’d like to share? Or maybe like me, would you have difficulty choosing only one?

4 comments on “What’s Your Favorite Children’s Book?

  1. Oh Darlin’ . . . far too many . . . ALL the “Harry Potter” for sure ~ that will always be “our thing” reading those to him before he could read them himself . . . and he’ll be 21 this month and STILL listens to them on audio with Grandma. His favorites (that he doesn’t even remember I’m sure) were “Baby Faces”, “Happy Birthday, Thomas, A Thomas the Tank Engine Book”, “I’ll Love You Forever” and “The Kissing Hand.” His favorite Dr. Seuss was “The Lorax” which his father considered “almost communist,” I loved all the Laura Ingalls Wilder books, all Dr. Seuss, 10 million Golden Books and one very out there book titled “The Five Chinese Brothers” a HORRIFYING tale from an adult perspective. Yes, all these books are STILL in my house. No I am NOT a hoarder.

  2. Jan O'Brien
    April 2, 2014

    My very favorite was Heidi. My sister received it as a Christmas gift one year and since she wasn’t a reader, I devoured it!

  3. dianescheurell
    April 2, 2014

    Your book surely makes my list. Can’t wait for the next one.

    • spencedaniel2012
      May 23, 2014

      Dear Fellow Book Lovers – thanks for sharing! I loved your words and your book list(s) – so MANY GREAT books out there! Hand over heart gratitude for your following. I’m beyond grateful.

Leave a Reply

