spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Searching for More Adjectives

When I was growing up, I loved the adventure of a Sunday drive. All it would take is hearing my mom or dad ask us kids who wanted to take a ride and I was already sitting in the car…with my coat on. I remember looking out the window as the streets became fields and the world just seemed to pass by. I also remember always feeling happy and safe and very much alive.

As an adult I still love a Sunday drive and often think back to those childhood moments with such warm memories and a heart full of gratitude. Fall happens to be my absolute favorite time of year to grab my car keys and head out to discover what adventure or experience or natural wonder awaits.Main Street Color

This fall the leaf colors and the trees have been off the charts breathtaking and I haven’t only taken drives or walks on a Sunday. Every single morning on my way into work (and on my way home too), I’ve been soaking up and savoring the rich canopy of colors – amber and brown and green and orange and red and so many more.

A Close Up

A Close Up

Nearly every day I’ve been tempted to just keep driving. I’ve taken off at lunchtime, at least a couple times each week to drive by the lake or travel down Main Street or just until a tree or colorful street beckons me to pullover and stop. Sometimes I just sit there with the windows rolled down, breathing in the sweet aroma that only belongs to this magical time of year. Sometimes I snap a photo. Or two. Or three. And sometimes, if the street is quiet for a moment with no passing cars, I get to hear the sounds of crisp leaves as the wind swirls them across the grey stone pavement.

When I have a few extra moments to spare, I get out of the car and take a walk. I did that last week, as I’ve done hundreds of times since my youth, walking ever so slowly while scanning the sidewalks and the barely visible green lawns for the most lovely and pick-able leaves.

What wonders await when you pause to look down...

What wonders await when you pause to look down…

I often end up picking a bouquet – a beautiful one-of-a-kind array of multicolored and freshly dropped loveliness.

My Leaf Bouquet

My Leaf Bouquet

Years ago, I used to press my favorite leaves in books or make some type of art with them, often tracing the outline or just saving them on a dresser or bedside table until they curled up and got brittle and crunchy and had to be thrown away.

In elementary school, I remember an art project where we placed our well chosen trophy leaf or leaves between two pieces of waxed paper, sprinkling bits of broken crayon around the leaf and then taking a hot iron (our teacher did this part) and melting the crayons until the waxed paper became what I now imagine to be some of the first laminated artwork.

Colors Winding Down by the LakeMy September and October conversations and journal pages have been filled with words like lovely, beautiful, gorgeous, amazing, sensational, breathtaking, jaw-dropping, and spectacular. And while all of these words are truly wonderful words, I’ve still been finding myself searching for more adjectives to describe this heavenly season.

Look at the Leaf Color Starting to Turn!

Look at the Leaf Color Starting to Turn!

Ready to Drop?

Ready to Drop?

A sweet thing just happened at the exact time I typed the previous words – a perfect quote came to mind and a flock of honking geese flew over my house. I love when little moments like that happen. I’m sure you know the quote, A PICTURE IS WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS. And although a picture rarely compares to the real thing, I think some of these photos come very close.

Unfortunately, I have no plans to take a Sunday drive today. Instead, I’m heading outside to enjoy this gorgeous blue sky day and rake some leaves. Lots and lots and LOTS of amber and brown and yellow leaves are waiting for me in my yard. Maybe you have your own leaves to rake today or maybe you’re off to take a drive somewhere to enjoy the colors. Or maybe you’re tempted to grab a rake and gloves and come on over. While very unlikely, just know you’d be welcome.

Whatever your day has in store – here’s wishing you a lovely, beautiful, gorgeous, amazing, sensational, breathtaking, jaw-dropping, and spectacular Sunday! Always.

Front Door Charm

Front Door Charm

The Other Charming Side

The Other Charming Side

 

 

6 comments on “Searching for More Adjectives

  1. dianescheurell
    October 26, 2014

    Thank you Susan for bringing me back to Wisconsin and the colors and adjectives of fall. Hawaii has no dramatic change of season, though I may soon give up sleeveless dresses. Today we are going to the beach to swim. The ocean is warmer than normal this year and we plan to take advantage of that.

    Jump in a leaf pile for me!

    • spencedaniel2012
      October 26, 2014

      While I didn’t jump in a leaf pile for you, I did think of you when I raked. I imagine raking is high on your list of things you don’t miss about living in Wisconsin. I’m just in from 3 hours and I only was able to finish the front yard. The entire time I raked, the leaves kept coming down. But it feels good to see the results of my labor. Enjoy the Hawaii sunshine and your warm ocean swimming. Sounds wonderful!

  2. Jill Fletcher
    October 26, 2014

    Sue, I love your blog! You are an awesome writer and photographer! But, most of all, I appreciate your uplifting outlook on life! The “positivity” looks good on you! Happy Fall, my favorite season as well!

    • spencedaniel2012
      October 27, 2014

      Jill, I so appreciate your affirming words and warm wishes. Thanks for taking the time to write a comment. I hope you’ll keep stopping by or maybe even consider becoming a follower of my blog. Wishing you and yours a happy fall too, and all the best always!

  3. Christine Phillips-Vohasek
    October 27, 2014

    Lovely.

    • spencedaniel2012
      October 27, 2014

      I loved your word. It was perfect. It even got me a little choked up too. Imagine that. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

