spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

The Very Best Gift of All

I think everyone must have at least one gift they remember as being their all-time favorite.

  • It may have been a gift that was an absolute surprise.
  • It may have been one that was dreamt about for many days and nights.
  • It may have been one that was circled on a well-worn page in some thick mail order catalog.
  • Maybe it was something that was hand written on a hoped-for gift or wish list.
  • Maybe it was a gift of time with someone special.
  • Maybe it was a surprise trip.
  • Maybe it arrived all wrapped up special with some pretty ribbon or a festive bow.

I received the favorite gift of my life 27 years ago today. While it didn’t come tied up with a ribbon or a bow (that would come years later), it was one I had hoped and waited for most of my life.

When I happily discovered I was expecting this gift, I savored every single moment until the autumn delivery date arrived, a little over 9 months later.

It arrived (somewhat noisily) weighing exactly 7 lbs. and was placed into my waiting arms all bundled in a soft pink blanket with a matching, ever-so-tiny pink knitted hat.

I was absolutely smitten at very first sight. After quickly counting ten perfect little fingers and ten sweet little toes, my life instantly and miraculously changed forever.

I cannot imagine any gift ever comparing to this sweet, adorable and most precious bundle of joy that I received so many Octobers ago. And even though I know there will be gifts of the grandest kind that will arrive someday. This one perfect gift, this heavenly-sent one-of-a-kind gift that made me a mama, will always be the very best gift of all.

Happy Candle Blowing, Hilary!

I almost have no words.

Almost.

Me with My Sweet Little Gift in 1989

Me with My Sweet Little Gift in 1989

My Lovely Gift and Me in 2012

My Lovely Gift and Me in 2012

10 comments on “The Very Best Gift of All

  1. philandjoan
    October 29, 2014

    I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE this one!!! Bravo!!! xxx

    • spencedaniel2012
      October 29, 2014

      Thank you! I absolutely LOOOOOOOOOOOVE and appreciate your sweet words. xo back

  2. dianescheurell
    October 29, 2014

    A beautiful essay. A beautiful daughter.

    • spencedaniel2012
      October 29, 2014

      Oh Diane – thank you for your feedback about my essay. And regarding my daughter, I think so too. Wishing you the very best always.

  3. Hilary
    October 29, 2014

    I can’t even. This is so incredibly sweet. A blog post for me? All my stars. I love you, sweet mama.

    • spencedaniel2012
      October 29, 2014

      And I love you. Always.
      P.S. You and your words make me smile too. Always.

  4. Erica
    October 30, 2014

    You two are the absolute cutest, sweetest mother-daughter duo ever. It’s nice to put a face to the name of someone I’ve heard so much about. 🙂 Sue, you never fail to make me smile.

    • spencedaniel2012
      October 30, 2014

      Awww…Erica. Your sweet and acknowledging words make me smile. Thank you for sharing them and thanks also for stopping by to read my blog. I’m so glad I’ve gotten to know you. To know you, is to love you.

  5. Jan O"Brien
    October 30, 2014

    From a beautiful baby to a beautiful young woman. Absolutely takes after her Mom. Love that you are back blogging again!

    • spencedaniel2012
      October 30, 2014

      Thank you for your sweet and acknowledging words, Jan. I so love getting comments and I’m touched by what you wrote. I also love that you follow my blog. Hand over heart gratitude for you and all my blog followers and readers. It does feel great to be back.

Leave a Reply

