spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Random Ephemera and Waiting Words

I took a vacation day today. My plan last week was to spend it raking. Only it snowed this past weekend and now with a couple of inches of snow on the ground and temperatures in the teens, the raking will have to wait – maybe until spring. So instead I’m quite content to spend my vacation day at home and inside.

I always have a Plan B, and that is tackling my to-do list. At least that had been my plan. Then the mail came. More specifically, the new Paper Source Catalog came in the mail. Now I happen to be a lifelong fan of just about anything paper – always have been and always will be. And when it comes to paper, Paper Source takes it to a whole new level.

The New Paper Source Catalog

The New Paper Source Catalog

I actually have somewhat of a routine when it comes to this catalog. I open it. I browse it. Sometimes I browse it more than once. I always savor each non-shiny page and all the wonderful layout designs, and then I do my best to refrain from calling the 888-number and ordering nearly everything in the catalog. My creative brain goes into overdrive as I take in so many of their new paper creations and colorful products. I would love to meet the artists and designers behind these treasures. I even savor many of the words too. And then almost immediately after browsing, I grab my scissors and cut the catalog apart. Literally.

You see, I’m a serious fan of ephemera. It’s the stuff that may not be significant to a lot of people, the random paper and miscellaneous things, like ticket stubs, and programs, and paper memorabilia that may not be meant to have any lasting value but sometimes to some people (yours truly) it has meaning or a reason to be saved. And to me, the Paper Source Catalog has some of the best ephemera. If you don’t believe me, get on the mailing list and see for yourself. I also love that the catalog paper is matt finished recycled paper, so whatever is left over is easily recyclable.

Years ago, after first reading Simple Abundance, by Sarah Ban Breathnach, I was inspired to start an Illustrated Journal. It has become the perfect place for me to keep most of my random ephemera and things that I want to save and remember. I always have a basket or container that contains little scraps of paper or odds and ends waiting for creative moments or time in my studio.

Waiting Ephemera

Waiting Ephemera

Sometimes I don’t have time to finish a page, so I have a number of pages with pasted images or stickers or scrapbook paper just waiting for the day when I do have some extra time.

Waiting for Words and More Ephemera

Waiting for Words and More Ephemera

The Facing Ephemera Page to Random

The Facing Ephemera Page to Random

I love a day spent adding my words or pasting in more saved images. It’s a wonderful creative writing exercise.

These Images Make me Happy

These Images Make me Happy

A Page of Favorite Things

A Page of Favorite Things

Sometimes I Sketch in my Illustrated Journal

Sometimes I Sketch in my Illustrated Journal

Even a Lovely Wine Label is Worth Saving

Even a Lovely Wine Label is Worth Saving

I find this creative outlet such wonderful therapy and healing time. I always feel refreshed and renewed after spending time in my studio.

Do Something Creative Everyday

Do Something Creative Everyday

Sometimes I record the date I finished the page or added the words.

More Things that I Love

More Things that I Love

Remember when you were a kid and loved a day spent with scissors and paste? I think the child within me, just never grew up. I still love a day spent that way. How about you?

 

Paris Anytime

Paris Anytime

Inserted envelopes make great catchers for the things that are double sided.

Some More Favorite Things

Some More Favorite Things

I wish there was a way to turn this into a full-time job.

Photos Stickers and More

Photos Stickers and More

This illustrated journal really is a happy place.

Three Cheers for Ruby Red Grapefruit

Three Cheers for Ruby Red Grapefruit

Even Diana has a page waiting…

Lovely Diana and Colectivo Coffee Too

Lovely Diana and Colectivo Coffee Too

Some of the Many Things I Love Buttons Hugs Bacon and Oatmeal

Some of the Many Things I Love Buttons Hugs Bacon and Oatmeal

Let me know if I’ve inspired you to spend some time with scissors and paste or maybe even starting your own Illustrated Journal. I would love to see it. For now, that pesky to-do list is waiting. Or maybe just one more peek at the Paper Source catalog…I did notice on page 32 that they have a Holiday Card Contest – hello. Oh man, wish me luck.

4 comments on “Random Ephemera and Waiting Words

  1. dianescheurell
    November 17, 2014

    Susan, I do something similar. I cut out scraps and magazine pages – words, pictures – that grab me, and save them for my next Vision Board.
    As for the leaves under the snow, it’ll be good compost. Enjoy your day at home. – Diane

    • spencedaniel2012
      November 18, 2014

      Thanks, Diane. I did enjoy my day home.
      P.S. I also do a lot with clipped magazine art and words and actually have a rather large stash of them waiting for some creative time as well.

  2. Diane Hensley
    November 17, 2014

    Sue, you always inspire me. I love paper through you!

    • spencedaniel2012
      November 18, 2014

      I’m so glad that I inspire you. And the fact that you love paper through me just tickles me to no end. Thank you for sharing, Diane.

Leave a Reply

