spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Someday

There are memories of being a young girl that are as vivid to me as if they happened yesterday.

  • Playing dress up with my Barbie doll
  • Riding a noisy school bus and thinking how lucky it was to get the back bumpy seat or the one with the rounded hump of the wheel
  • Weaving the stems and blossoms of fresh-picked clover into crowns and necklaces
  • Swinging on a swing and feeling the exhilaration of almost flying
  • Sitting at the dinner table and seeing the youthful faces of my siblings and parents gathered around me
  • Catching fireflies in canning jars and watching them magically light up
  • Falling asleep in the car and getting carried into the house in my dad’s strong arms
  • Waiting to get big…waiting for my birthday to come or Christmas morning to arrive or summer vacation to start…waiting for my mom’s promise of someday…always waiting

There’s a saying – Someday Never Comes. Only I disagree. I think someday comes smack dab in the middle of our busy and full lives, while we are daydreaming of the next someday. And without even realizing it, we seem quite certain that there will always be a new someday to dream about.

We wait for the calendar pages to turn, sometimes patiently, sometimes not.

We mark what can feel at times to be a blur of 365 days with milestones, sometimes with candles on a cake, a memento for years of service, or with photographs we are seldom happy with until we look at them through the comparison of a much older lens. Then we think in amazement, just how great we really did look at that age.

We celebrate anniversaries and births and reunions, and as the years pass, we marvel and sometimes get a little stuck that the number associated with our age truly belongs to us. We may still remember family members or friends that were once this same age, and thinking at the time they were so old…only now, we don’t feel so old.

I remember asking my grandmother what it felt like to be 87 years old. I was 20 at the time. She thought about it for only a few moments and said, “I look in the mirror and think, who is this? I’m only 17. And when I want to go visit my friends, I have to go to the cemetery.”

Not surprisingly, those words have stayed with me ever since.

We squeeze the life out of every moment or day or year, or at least we should, savoring every last drop to remember long after the moment or day or year has passed. And all the while we dream of someday…

Someday, when we say goodbye to our job, maybe for a new job or maybe to retire. Someday, when we turn in our keys and maybe the ID badge that gets us in the building, and all our saved and very important emails and contacts and Internet favorites will be wiped clean from our computers. Someday, the offices and hallways that seemed so much a part of our work lives for so many years will no longer be a part of it. We’ll say good bye to coworkers and friends with promises to stay in touch. Promises that seem so easy to keep, but may not be.

In the circle of life or maybe the natural progression of time, as older employees retire, new employees start or take their places. Being one of the older employees now, I’ve caught myself wondering if the government has lowered the age for getting a work permit. Some of these new faces appear to be more from middle or high school than fresh out of college. At the same time, I can also imagine when they see me, they might possibly be reminded of their mothers or maybe even their grandmothers. Hello.

We think and plan and save for retirement and imagine we’ll have time and energy to do the things we most want to do. Time to see the places we still want to see. Time to check off our bucket list of dreams. Plenty of precious and fleeting time.

And then, we get a jolt of news or reality. For me it was the recent news I received that several former classmates and friends had died. Their lives cut short. At least that’s what I thought when I read their obituaries and felt the shock of seeing my age in print.

I want to live a long life. I want to be healthy of mind and body and spirit until I take my last breath. I want to savor the moments and tickle the toes of my someday grandbabies and great-grandbabies and squeeze the heck of out every single day. I want to experience and notice every single drop of my life. Not just someday or next week or next year, but today. Precious and fleeting today. At least that’s my plan. And I wish the same for you too.

Nails and Tacks from Moments in Time - Left Behind

Nails and Tacks from Moments in Time – Left Behind

14 comments on “Someday

  1. Mark Woodward
    August 4, 2015

    Great post! I’m definitely trying to enjoy every moment of my new journey with my family in North Carolina 🙂

    • spencedaniel2012
      August 4, 2015

      Thanks, Mark! I appreciate your feedback and I’m thrilled to hear that you are enjoying your family and new life in North Carolina. You were one of the people I thought of when I wrote this post. I’m so glad we have a way to stay connected. All the very best always.

  2. dianescheurell
    August 4, 2015

    Sue, it is so good to see you are writing again. As always, I love what you have to say. I am all about getting every drop out of every day. Glad you are too. Much Aloha, Diane

    • spencedaniel2012
      August 5, 2015

      Thanks for your comment, Diane. It’s nice to hear from you. And although I’ve been quiet on the blogging front, I’ve still been writing every day. Wishing you much aloha too. Stay well.

  3. therese
    August 4, 2015

    Your words create such beautiful pictures and thoughts in my mind. Good to hear from you again! I hope you have several grandbabies to create new and beautiful memories with:)

    • spencedaniel2012
      August 5, 2015

      Awww…thank you for such sweet grandbaby wishes, Therese. I hope so too. And thank you also for your kind and affirming words about mine. I’m so happy to hear from you. Be well. Always.

  4. Jan O'Brien
    August 5, 2015

    Loved this Sue…It’s like you wrote it just for me:) My somedays are here and I savor each and every one, soon there may not be anymore, which is why every experience, every day is amazing. Thank you!!!

    • spencedaniel2012
      August 5, 2015

      Jan, thank YOU! I so appreciate your words and I’m delighted that you are basking and savoring your somedays each and every day. What a blessing! Take good care.

  5. Hilary
    August 5, 2015

    I so love your words, blog, stories, and just you.

  6. Dawn
    August 5, 2015

    How fabulous this essay is…and how appropriate. Seems like the benchmarks of high school and college class reunions always make our own mortality very apparent.

    And now to be thinking about one’s career almost in the rear-view mirror? It seems almost impossible to fathom not moving forward to the next level or next job, but to bask in the glow of a career that’s past…and to cross our fingers that the Millennials coming after us don’t goof it all up!

    • spencedaniel2012
      August 5, 2015

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Dawn. I just love your words about looking at your career in the rear-view mirror. It’s a perfect way to explain it. Call me a Pollyanna, but I have great faith in the Millennials…I also happen to know and love a few amazing ones. I’ll also bet our parents’ generation had the same concerns when we were getting into the workforce.

  7. Tanya
    August 26, 2015

    Sue, Beautifully written, poignant, brought a tear to my eye…more than once, as well as a few smiles. You have a gift! Keep sharing, Tanya

    • spencedaniel2012
      November 28, 2015

      Thank you, Tanya. I so appreciate your kind words and feedback.

Leave a Reply

