spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Well-Worn Pocket of Words

I’ve been a collector of quotes and words, especially ones that speak to my soul, for as long as I can remember. Besides finding them in multiple books and publications, or etched in stone on walls and buildings and memorials, today there’s also an endless supply of them online.Nothing But Words

Maybe you’re a fan of words too? With that in mind, I thought it might be fun to share some quotes with you, and the teacher in me couldn’t resist making it into a quick quiz.

Here’s the deal. There are 10 quotes and 10 famous names. See if you can identify the name of the person who said each quote. The quiz answers are listed at the end of this blog post.

  1. One small step for man, one giant leap for mankind. ~
  2. Keep your face to the sunshine and you cannot see the shadows. ~
  3. It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood. ~
  4. I have a dream. ~
  5. It’s a good thing. ~
  6. Ask not what your country can do for you ask what you can do for your country. ~
  7. Never, never, never give up. ~
  8. You get a car, and you get a car, and you get a car! ~
  9. Today you are you! That is truer than true! There is no one alive who is you-er than you!
  10. Be kind to one another. ~
Dr. Seuss
Ellen DeGeneres
Helen Keller
John F. Kennedy
Martha Stewart
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Mr. Rogers
Neil Armstrong
Oprah Winfrey
Winston Churchill

I’m already anticipating that most, if not all of you were able to match all 10 quotes perfectly. Good job!

Now even though our words may not end up becoming a famous or well-recognized quote by the world, they are still our words. While the numbers and studies may vary, we humans on average speak multiple thousands of words in a day or many multiple millions in a lifetime. If we paused to think about it, we’d realize we are bombarded by words; the ones we speak or use, the ones we hear or read, and the ones that are spoken all around us every day.

Some words overlap with others, like the commonly used: I, me, the, yes, no, please, and thank you. And of course the list goes on and on and on. Some words become such well-worn phrases or favorite go-to lines that we use so often, when people hear them they almost instantly recognize us by them. It’s almost like they become our signature words.

I realize, at this moment you might be reading this and scratching your head, trying to figure out what it is that you say all the time. Just know even I had to run this question by my daughter and younger sister; both of whom offered some assistance.

A few of my well-worn signature phrases are:

Cancel, cancel. I say this when I hear something negative, either when said in general or specifically directed at me. A perfect example is when someone says, “I know I’m going to get sick and you’re probably going to get sick too.”

Here’s the deal or here’s the thing. These basically mean the same thing. I use them fairly interchangeably to introduce my answer to a question or to give some clarification to an explanation or a disclaimer. I obviously have used the first one often enough that a co-worker friend of mine’s favorite question to ask me is, “What’s the deal, Sue?”

Big deal, so what. My sister loves this saying of mine. She reminded me I use this when something is said or happens that I might perceive as being upsetting or that has the potential to be a mood changer. It’s what I say when I’ve made the decision to move on or not let something bother me. Most of the time, it even works.

You know what? My daughter mentioned this one. When I thought about it, I agreed that I tend to use these words in conversations quite regularly. I say this when I have an epiphany or an idea, or just as an introductory phrase to a story or something else I want to share.

How about you? Do you have any signature phrases you might pull out of your deep and well-worn pocket of words that you’d like to share? If you do, I’d love to see them.

P.S. How’d you do on the quiz?

*****

Quote Quiz Answers ~

  1. Neil Armstrong
  2. Helen Keller
  3. Mr. Rogers
  4. Martin Luther King, Jr.
  5. Martha Stewart
  6. John F. Kennedy
  7. Winston Churchill
  8. Oprah Winfrey
  9. Dr. Seuss
  10. Ellen DeGeneres
2 comments on “Well-Worn Pocket of Words

  1. Diane Scheurell
    February 5, 2016

    I also use “Cancel Cancel,” especially when my husband starts out a conversation joking with “I, your Lord and Master…”

    • spencedaniel
      February 14, 2016

      Haha..it’s sounds like the appropriate or perfect comeback.

Leave a Reply

