spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Reviews

Some Additional Amazon Reviews…

By Diane Hensley  on October 15, 2014

This book is truly delightful. I have a new perspective on homes I see with “for sale” signs in their yard — they just want a family. It is a perfect gift for a family that is moving or a welcome to the community gift. Love the writing and the adorable drawings that make the book a delight.

***

By Murthy M.  on September 29, 2014
My kids loved the book so much that I ordered extra copies as birthday gifts for their friends. I especially liked the choice of words, simple style, and inspiring pictures.. they all came together very nicely and told a compelling and heart warming story that is hard to forget.

***
By joy on September 23, 2014
This is a warm wonderful story for any child with beautiful illustrations.

I bought this book for my nephews and niece and they loved it. Books make great presents and I highly recommend this one

***
By tom on September 23, 2014

A touching story about the journey to be loved, disguised within the unique perspective of a house. Children and adults can relate to the range of emotions the house goes through along it’s journey, and what it really means to be loved. My son is 11 now, and I wish I had this book when he was younger – this is one I know he would have requested to read on a nightly basis.

The illustrations seem classic, almost like a Richard Scarry children’s book. There is a range of perspective from broad to narrow, with small details in each illustration that children will enjoy discovering. One illustration in particular takes a creative approach to showing the four seasons the house experiences. This is truly a short story to get lost in.

***

By Hilary on May 16, 2014

This is a go-to for me when babysitting or giving baby shower gifts. The illustrations are so incredibly detailed and whimsical; it’s so fun to ask kids to find things on the pages – the spider hanging from the windowsill, the newspaper in the bushes. This book is a treasure that gets better and better with each read.
*** Scroll down for more Amazon Reviews… ***

Reviews on Blogs:

Click here to read a February 2013 review from Samantha, a blogger and homeschooling mom. At her blog: As They Grow Up, she also did a giveaway of my book and got 360 entries. Love it!

* * *

Here is a review written by Denise Mistich from Kids Book Group January 11, 2013

The House That Wanted a Family, by Susan Spence Daniel, is a very quiet and sweet book for children. The story, told from the perspective of an empty, lonely house teaches a bit of perseverance and patience while demonstrating the one ingredient that truly makes any house a home: family.

When I read this book, the first thing that came to mind was a coffee break. I know that makes no sense, but the story itself is peaceful. The illustrations are colorful and interesting, yet soft.  Children experience stress and anxiety, and like anyone else, sometimes they just need a break. Get your child and curl up with this story and it will feel like a nice, quiet coffee break.  

Art for children that inspires peace and tranquility while promoting the importance of family…I think it deserves at least four stars and a place on every child’s book shelf.

Here is a review from Designer Dad December 10,2012:

I recently came across this children’s book called “The House That Wanted A Family” written and illustrated by Susan Spence Daniel.

I liked how the book captured the essence of what a home is or what creates a home… It’s a space waiting for a family to transform it and bring it to life.

It’s funny how a simple structure of wood and glass can become such a part of our lives and memories.  We can create a home anywhere – but it is the essence of all the things that make up the home – which can elevate a simple house into something special : our home.

Here is a review from Dad of Divas’ November 25, 2012:

This was a touching family that shows that a house is definitely not a home without the love that comes from a family to fill it. This was definitely a new way to look at your own home and my girls absolutely loved it. We have taken similar walks around our town and seen homes that are vacant, especially in today’s real estate market, and this really opened their eyes to what was missing from the house from the houses’ perspective. This is a book that is a great read for anyone, whether they are about to move or will never move again. The story is timeless and shares a special message.

Customer Reviews on Inspiring Voices:

This is such a wonderful book for all ages. We read this over and over at our house and simply love it.
Lisa Rybarik

A lovey book. The story is enjoyed by children of all ages.
Diane Hensley 

 
Love, love this book! It is perfect for a family moving into a new home especially for the first time.
Donna Ouellette
Customer Reviews on Amazon:
I loved this story!, February 25, 2013

This is a great little tale with so much packed in. If you are moving with little ones this would be a great book to help your child adjust to moving. By showing the house with feelings it will really help the kids want to be there to make the house happy.

**Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for review purposes. As always my opinions are 100% my own. You can find my full review online at astheygrowup.com

http://pinterest.com/pin/200902833349658243/

Instant Classic, November 29, 2012
By L. SimonSee all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The House That Wanted a Family (Paperback)

This book has such a wonderful and universal message…it’s a gem for any child or elementary school to have in their library. It’s incredibly well-written, and the illustrations are stunning. You can feel how much love went into writing and illustrating this book! A must-have for a children’s book collection, and would make a fabulous gift.

A Wonderful Book!,November 25, 2012
By Dad of DivasSee all my reviews

This review is from: The House That Wanted a Family (Paperback)

This was a touching family that shows that a house is definitely not a home without the love that comes from a family to fill it. This was definitely a new way to look at your own home and my girls absolutely loved it. We have taken similar walks around our town and seen homes that are vacant, especially in today’s real estate market, and this really opened their eyes to what was missing from the house from the houses’ perspective. This is a book that is a great read for anyone, whether they are about to move or will never move again. The story is timeless and shares a special message!

Wonderful story,May 20, 2012
By R. Klemetsen (Midwest) – See all my reviews

This review is from: The House That Wanted a Family (Paperback)

This is such a wonderful story about how a house becomes a home. And the pictures are great. The story not only touches your heart, but can help one think of other analogies in life. You make a house into a “home” – it doesn’t just happen. For example, in one’s life you can make situations and things have deeper meaning… really represent much more than simply what is on the surface. True bonds between family members; brotherly love (not just ” brothers”); how our flag represents freedom, unity and so much more; school is not just for learning but can expand your mind; and so many more life analogies.And while reading this wonderful book I couldn’t help but think about not just how houses want to be homes, but how we all want more than to be just another “person.” We want to be loved and cherished by others… We want to REALLY mean something much more to so many. And that just doesn’t happen, it takes work. But, gosh is it worth it, like making a house into a home.Wonderful story that I’m sure many children’s and adults alike will enjoy!

Great Book for Families on the Move,April 28, 2012
By World BestSee all my reviews

This review is from: The House That Wanted a Family (Paperback)

Families in transition, take heart! At last here is a story that gives hope to parents who wonder whether the nervous anticipation that comes with a move will give over to happier times. The House that Wanted a Family found my family as we were making an international move. We loved this book and the the house that knows what it needs to be a home! The whimsical illustrations and endearing prose give the house real character. The story reminded me and my kids that our new house also has a personality, and it had been waiting for us, too. I have recommended this book to other expatriates in our community, to our school administrators, and relocation specialists. If you’re a family on the move, get this book.

How a House Becomes a Home,April 9, 2012
By CM Vohasek (Chicago, USA) – See all my reviews

This review is from: The House That Wanted a Family (Paperback)

Darling little book that will appeal to those little ones in your life. I can imagine it being a “read this one again” bedtime story time book. Perfect gift for a family looking for a new home or adjusting to a new home.

Customer Reviews on Barnes & Noble:

LSimon Posted November 29, 2012

This book has such a wonderful and universal message…it’s a gem

This book has such a wonderful and universal message…it’s a gem for any child or elementary school to have in their library. It’s incredibly well-written, and the illustrations are stunning. You can feel how much love went into writing and illustrating this book! A must-have for a children’s book collection, and would make a fabulous gift.

BriBee

Posted April 3, 2012

The illustrations are gorgeous! The story is heart felt and wonderful

The illustrations are gorgeous! The story is heart felt and wonderful. Such a lovely story from the perspective of the house. You can tell the author has a lot of love in her heart for writing and illustrating. Great job!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: