spencedaniel

Dreams really do come true. Keep dreaming!

Silly Me, I Forgot the Pictures

Oh silly me! I forgot the pictures!
I asked for feedback on Sunday, but then didn’t give you any graphics or pictures to compare against. Sorry about that. In case you are wondering what I am talking about – here was the verbiage from Sunday’s blog post: Periodically, I get the itch to change the look of my blog. In the year since I started blogging, I’ve actually changed the theme or appearance six times and I’m wondering if you’ve noticed. I never thought to announce it before, but now I thought I would.

I’d love to know what you think:

  • Do you like the colors or the font?
  • Is it easy on the eyes?
  • Do you have a favorite?
  • Do you have a preference?
  • Do you find it difficult to maneuver?

I have a few more themes I plan to try in the next couple of weeks and a special holiday cheer one I’ll be using for much of the month of December. That is of course, unless I get the itch to change it. I may even change the current theme before you have a chance to see it. Just know I’m always open to any feedback, questions, or comments at all. So if you have a spare minute, let me know what you think. Thanks!
– – – – – –
 SO AT LONG LAST – THE MISSING PICTURES!
Here was my first theme from a year ago called Fruit Theme. Only, I made some changes to my banner graphics and somehow I lost the original one.

Fruit Theme/First Theme

Fruit Theme/First Theme

I only used this Fiore Theme for about a week or two … maybe you missed it.

Fiore Theme

Fiore Theme

This was the Next Saturday theme that I happened to select on a SATURDAY (my favorite day of the week – in case you didn’t know) and I kept it for about a week or two of Saturdays…

Next Saturday Theme

Next Saturday Theme

I found and selected this Lovebirds Theme on Valentine’s Day or sometime in February, but I thought it might be a bit too lovey dovey or weddingy, if there is such a word. I only kept it up for several days.

Lovebirds Theme

Lovebirds Theme

Suburbia was a theme I had for a several months. I really liked that it gave clickable snapshots of my blog posts. But of course, I decided I needed a change and maybe you did too.

Suburbia Theme

Suburbia Theme

For the first day of school and several days after, I chose Chalkboard for a festive look. I really liked it.

Chalkboard Theme

Chalkboard Theme

I am starting to wonder about me and my number of changes. Maybe you are too. This Crafty Theme was one I had up for only about an hour. What the heck, huh? If you blinked, you probably missed it.

Crafty Theme

Crafty Theme

This Matala Theme never saw the light of day or anyone’s computer screen for that matter. I thought it was a little too busy. You think?

Matala Theme

Matala Theme

I found the Balloons Theme when I scanning the 287 other themes to be able to share them with you. I’m not making up that number either. I may use it in the future for some occasion that needs to be celebrated or maybe for an anniversary or National Balloon Day. If there is a balloon day. Stay tuned.

Balloons Theme

Balloons theme

I had the My Life Theme for a couple of months and really like the simple colors, but it seemed a little too simple.

My LIfe Theme

My LIfe Theme

Seriously there are tons of blog themes to choose from (at least in WordPress) and not all of them are free. Now, some of you may be shaking your head, because you never knew there were so many choices in blog land. Some of you who blog may be shaking your head in agreement, because the choices are endless. Here is one called Little Story that has a cost of $75, that I love. There are many others too. I like Little Story because it is sweet and happy, only I’m not sure I want to pay for a theme. It is awful sweet though.

Little Story Theme

Little Story Theme

My latest theme is Vintage Camera. I thought it had nice eye-appeal and maybe was a little symbolic too.

Vintage Camera Theme

Vintage Camera Theme

And finally, yes Virginia there is an end to this blog post, I found this theme while scanning the options out there. It is called Misty. Of course, I found myself thinking about Clint Eastwood when I saw the title…as in Play Misty For Me.
But something surprising happened when I did a test view to check it out. My original banner graphics came back. I’m not sure how or why, but it kind of made me chuckle out loud.

Misty Theme

Misty Theme

I got so caught up in all of this previewing and screen saving and sharing, I almost forgot the original questions I asked on Sunday. Oh yes, feel free to share your thoughts or opinions (or possible concerns – haha), if you have any. And by now I think it’s fairly certain to assume that my blog theme will change again…one of these days. Stay tuned.

6 comments on “Silly Me, I Forgot the Pictures

  1. Joan
    November 12, 2013

    Sue, this is crazy but I have never seen any of those themes! The only one I ever saw was the one you called “Misty” in this blog which I don’t think IS Misty because you said when you tried it out your first ever theme came back…and that is the only one I remember seeing. Now, I know I have not missed any of your blogs. The only thing I can figure is that I always read them on my phone and on my phone they always appear the same which, me being the goofball I am, find comforting. I like it with your picture there in the upper LH corner. It’s familiar and it’s like reconnecting with an old friend (not a new one). If I am going to give you an opinion here though, which is what you are asking, out of all the themes you presented, I would have to say my favorite is “Blackboard”.

  2. Allison
    November 13, 2013

    Ooo the Little Story Theme is sooo cute. Is it a one time payment or is it like a membership that you have to pay for again and again. Look there I go rationalizing lol. my brain is a dangerous one when it comes to the cute factor.

  3. Crys Miller
    November 16, 2013

    Here are my top 3 picks.
    1) Suburbia – love the visual of the other posts…very clean.
    2) Chalk board – for the fun thoughts you had.
    3) the Banner with your book on it
    4) Balloons – those are fun.
    OK! I couldn’t just pick 3.
    I like the camera too that you have now!
    After looking over all again-I can see how this is difficult to decide. Maybe measure this via the number of posts you get during each change. My profit/loss measurements kick in.

    • spencedaniel2012
      November 17, 2013

      Joan, Allison, and Crys – I truly appreciate your thoughts and insights and feedback. It’s helpful to see it from your points of view and I’m thinking I may just choose a new or different theme monthly. There will be some repeats for sure, like Suburbia and Chalkboard, and maybe some with holiday themes (coming soon to a computer near you in December). I’m going to hold off on paying for any themes for now – at least until I understand how it all works AND until the book royalties are rolling in. Until then, stay well.

    • Penny
      January 11, 2014

      Amazing, but I made a list and they concur with Crystal’s list. Keep up the great work

      • spencedaniel2012
        January 18, 2014

        Thanks for the encouragement and for sharing your thoughts, Pen. As you can see, I too agree with all you said about Suburbia and made it my theme for the new year…or at least for now.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2013 by in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , .